Jodie Cook

December 20, 2021

Make your vocation your vacation

Create a life you don’t need to take a holiday from.
 
There are many unhealthy cultures that permeate business advice, but the most widely-accepted is, in my opinion, actually the worst. Grinding and hustling all year except for a handful of “well-earned” breaks, including Christmas, is practised and recommended by entrepreneurs and business leaders. But boom and bust is not sustainable.
 
I believe in switching off. I believe in intense relaxation. I believe in recharging and resetting, but I don’t believe these things need to happen during a fortnight in August and December. Similarly, I don’t believe in draining yourself of all energy during the week and saving your life for the weekend.
 
Instead of working yourself into the ground and needing two entire weeks of not opening your laptop, create a working life that you love to live. 
 
Work whenever you want to. Mind map ideas over dinners. Involve your family and friends. Travel the world and make calls from a balcony. Jot down the business improvements that pop into your head. Be so interested in what you do that it doesn’t feel like a chore.
 
There’s more to life than work but there’s more to work than filling a schedule. Purpose, meaning, making a difference. When you find those things, you might not crave the breaks as much. And that can only be a good thing.

Don't feel guilty about working over Christmas. Don't feel guilty about not working over Christmas. You do you.
 
 
Not convinced? Here’s more:
 
 
 
However you choose to spend the next few weeks, I wish you a happy and prosperous end to 2021.

darius-cotoi-nYYsLfGaf7w-unsplash.jpeg



About Jodie Cook

Welcome, great to have you here 👋

I'm Jodie, founder of Coachvox AI. We make AI coaches.

After selling my agency in 2021 I wrote my new book, Ten Year Career: Reimagine business, design your life, fast track your freedom.

> > > I'm now blogging directly from my website - sign up here.

These blogs are for entrepreneurs who think differently (or want to!)
Topics include mindset, lifestyle design and how to run a business without it running you.