Jodie Cook

September 2, 2021

North star check

In Tucker Max’s book, The Scribe Method: The best way to write and publish your non-fiction book, he advocates constructing what he calls a north star check. The format of the north star check is:
 
I will use my book to target [primary audience] by teaching them [primary audience benefits gained or problems solved], which will lead to my ultimate goal of more [desired result].
 
The writer completes the square brackets in relation to his or her book and uses the statement as a guide. If they feel their writing veering off on a tangent, a quick read of the north star check will put it back on track.
 
But north star checks aren’t just relevant when writing a book.

What if you had a north star check for your business or hobby? What if you had a north star check for how you spoke publicly or what kind of spouse or parent or friend you wanted to be?

A reality checkpoint or alignment marker could be useful to all of us, every single day.

rodion-kutsaev-OQ0zP6AS2DI-unsplash.jpeg
 



About Jodie Cook

Welcome, great to have you here 👋

I'm Jodie, founder of Coachvox AI. We make AI coaches.

After selling my agency in 2021 I wrote my new book, Ten Year Career: Reimagine business, design your life, fast track your freedom.

> > > I'm now blogging directly from my website - sign up here.

These blogs are for entrepreneurs who think differently (or want to!)
Topics include mindset, lifestyle design and how to run a business without it running you.