Klark Brown

November 12, 2023

It's about them, not me

In today's Maxwell reading, I'm reminded that none of this is about me. 

Things are more and more self promotional. I'm not pleased with it and looking for new ways to be available to help people who might need it. 

Thumbnails, attention seeking titles and algorithms are decaying the mind. 


Enjoy this read. I'll be looking at my actions closely. 

NOVEMBER 12 
MAKE OTHERS FEEL IMPORTANT 

Alan Zimmerman tells the story of Cavett Roberts, a successful lawyer, salesman, and founder of the National Speakers Association: 

Roberts looked out his window one morning and saw a skinny twelve-year-old boy going door to door selling books. The boy was headed for his house. Roberts turned to his wife and said, “Just watch me teach this kid a lesson about selling” . . . 
Mrs. Roberts watched as the twelve-year-old boy knocked on the door. Mr. Roberts opened the door and quickly explained that he was a very busy man. He had no interest in buying any books. But he said, “I’ll give you one minute, but I have to leave then—have a plane to catch.” 

The young salesman was not daunted by Roberts’s brush-off. He simply stared at the tall, gray-haired, distinguished-looking man, a man that he knew was fairly well known and quite wealthy. The boy said, “Sir, could you be the famous Cavett Roberts?” To which Mr. Roberts replied, “Come on in, son.” 

Mr. Roberts bought several books from the youngster—books that he might never read. The boy had mastered the principle of making the other person feel important, and it worked. 

When talking about charisma, it all boils down to this: The person without charisma walks into a group and says, “Here I am.” 
The person with charisma walks into a group and says, “There you are.”


KB


About Klark Brown

I spend a larger amount of my time than I should doing my small part improving this industry. I give people ideas and inspiration. Why? Because the momentum of 12,000 people working towards one thing is stronger than 1 person.

In exchange I ask that if you would like to get experienced and successful help from people who have DONE it, you reach out to us. We love what we do, and you will to. 

If you are a Restoprenuer™️ and want a guide (think Yoda to Skywalker) to help, thats what we do. www.restorationadvisers.com or simply reply to this email.