Lila Tace

September 5, 2024

'If I was going to put anything on record, then it ought to be me.' - John Coltrane

There's a lot to learn from John Coltrane.

The Road To Mastery.
Private art and public art are two different worlds. Private art is comfortable growth at one's own pace, while public art is compressed, pressured growth, leading to leaps in artistic development if not abandoned by facing pain publically. Mastery is establishing one's voice through one's chain of art (portfolio) and, by that, carving one's place in the history of art.

The Spiritual Journey Of Art.
Coltrane surrendered his struggle with Heroin and his music to God. His 'Spiritual Awakening' led him to live a life of service. He now existed to 'make people happy through music.' I directly attribute his purity of performance (transmission) to his surrender. He became a vessel for the greater good. His personal identity melts in the face of God, and that purity is captured in the recording. His music puts tears in my eyes.

The Carving Of One's Place In Art.
A box is a beautiful frame until it becomes my prison. Mastery requires demolition, undoing, and liberation. Masters fly like birds, and so I, too, must let go and fly. Coltrane received great resistance upon innovating music. First, it was messy, then it turned to divine. He followed his instincts throughout. 

About Lila Tace

I document my chain of art, my joy, and my frustration. This is my story in songs—one uninterrupted arch of an artist's journey. I'm a folk singer-songwriter, but honestly, I'm just a fool in love with scribbling poems on sheets of paper.