Lila Tace

July 29, 2024

What do I know for sure? Not much.

I am not who I thought I was: a rigid identity of my past. 

I am moldable and take on shapes, yet I am not the shapes. 

I see my past, not reality, as it is. 

With acute self-awareness, I can shed layers of my past and, thus, free up my future.

I realized I was going in circles a lot. 

I naturally become more intelligent the more I see reality clearly.

A rigid identity is quite unpleasant to live with.

My soul is not a box. 

I am just now discovering who I am, and that is an ongoing process.

In moments of pure freedom, there is no identity or filter; there is pure expression.

In moments of suppressed expression, I observe the pattern and pull roots.

I separate the story from the emotion and exhaust it to resolution. I feel the emotion and observe it without judgment. It isn't intrinsic to who I am. 

When there is no filter, there is just life.

Can I claim life? No.

Can I claim I know anything? No.

Who am I? One ignorant fool.

About Lila Tace

I document my chain of art, my joy, and my frustration. This is my story in songs—one uninterrupted arch of an artist's journey. I'm a folk singer-songwriter, but honestly, I'm just a fool in love with scribbling poems on sheets of paper.