Maneetpaul Singh

March 13, 2021

Why Metrics Are Hurting Creators

HEY World is the new platform on the block for blogging and newsletters. 

However, for a creator it lacks a lot of important stuff: 

  • No tracking for open rates or link engagement
  • No segmenting for subscribers, it’s just one list
  • No automation for scheduling emails or creating campaigns
  • No ability to import a list from another platform

As it turns out, these are the exact reasons why I’m choosing to use HEY World over something more robust.
 
Email marketing in the creator economy has become toxic.

Funnels. Trackers. Automated drip emails. It’s too much.

Our inboxes are a sacred place. As someone who’s purchased several digital products before, I buy from people I trust.

Being thrown into an automated sales sequence is the last thing that builds trust.

As a creator, the lack of these features also helps with our mental health.

I can’t tell you how much I’ve obsessed over open rates. Or how much I've constantly looked at my list to see if someone unsubscribed (and being hurt when someone did).

With HEY World, you literally have no way to see any of this. There are no trackers or metrics of any kind. There are no subscriber notifications, and you can’t even see your own list very easily.

Yes, having all the bells and whistles would probably help with growth. But some things are better left at their simplest.

Email should be one of those things.

---
I post a new essay every day, but to prevent spamming your inbox I only choose to email a few of them each week. Here are my previous HEY World posts.


Thank you for reading.