masha

March 25, 2024

dispatch #4 • paris, copy, animations

Bonjour! Welcome to dispatch #4. 

Paris

I spent almost two weeks in Paris at the beginning of February and wrote a short post about my time there. It includes hotel and coffee shops recommendations as well as lots of photos.


Copy

Copy is the core of a user interface and yet, it’s almost always an afterthought. Every company struggles with consistency and the solution is either more documentation (which barely anyone reads) or some new tool (which costs money and may not integrate smoothly with existing tools...).

At least this is what I used to think, until I discovered that it was possible to build a text review plugin in Figma. It works just like a spell check, but for your own copy guidelines.

I made a tutorial showing how you (or your developer :) can build this type of plugin. While this plugin doesn't cover everything (for example, it’s not going to work for context-dependent copy), it can still be a huge step forward. 

Hope you find it useful!

copy.png


Animations

One of the reasons I love Duolingo (the language learning app) is because of their super fun and cute animations. I wanted to learn how they make them and in the process, I discovered Rive

Rive is one of those tools that makes you think "Wow, the future is here." It's the only tool (that I know of) that can make interactive animations, that is built with designers and developers in mind, and that has great performance. 

If you're also intrigued, here are some links to check out:

To wrap this up, here's one of my favorite new Duo animations ↓
duo.mov
duo.mov 2.93 MB



Enjoy the week ☀
Masha

About masha

mash.haus
welcome to my world