Mike Gyi

November 17, 2022

My Space vs. Your Space

[written in 2021, found in my drafts yesterday, see this post for an explanation of its tardiness]

Finding my space, this space, has felt like a relief. I'll try to explain why.

This space is opt-in. It's only one step removed from the other platforms, but this makes all the difference. You've now entered into my non-shared corner of the internet, past the threshold and into my private space.

This is my safe space to write and create without judgement.

Whereas I'm writing this for pure enjoyment. The purpose clear. It's not muddled up with career progression and a like for a like merry go round.

Welcome.

Your space includes places like Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram, Facebook. You follow people by circumstance because you're an acquaintance, and often not out of interest of what they say or what they do.

There's no obvious filter and the purpose is unclear about why you follow that person in the first place.

Also analytics, no analytics - I really don't care who reads this. I just care that the people who read it care or it makes them think in a certain way. It's not often that you write something and it's default silence. No judgement, no rejection. Nada.

This space is my space. I am in control of distribution of these words.

The internet is vast, if you can craft out your cosy space then that's pretty cool.

Other platforms have felt like self-promotion and an intrusion into your space.

Your first word feels like you shouting into a crowd full of judgment, faceless people, varying audiences. Many people who are really not interested in what you have to say.

This space is only one step removed from the other platforms, but this makes all the difference. You've entered into a non-shared space of the internet, past the threshold and into my private space. 

I hope you can detect the privacy that as you opted in to this. There are only 6 of you receiving this in your inboxes right now. I may post the link to this in other places, but people get to choose whether to subscribe or not. It's my space. 

Many friends and family have read one of these emails, they didn't subscribe. Not everyone you love has to care about what you do or what you have to say. Their lives are busy enough. 

So thank you for subscribing and let's see what more is to come of this. Try to find your safe space to express yourself and you'll find the creativity will pour out through lack of judgement and you'll feel liberated in the process. 

Find your space. I seem to have found one of mine. 

About Mike Gyi

UX/Product, ex-architecture, ex-TW, community addict, building https://www.townspot.uk