Miles Fitzgerald

April 12, 2021

Quitting Twitter and Slowing Down

I've been thinking more about different ways to slow down in my life. In this issue, I want to share a few ideas and things that have helped me on this new journey.Ā 

Quitting Twitter šŸ”Š

2020 was the year where social media exploded.Ā 

ā€œThanksā€ to we know who, it's taken such a heavy place for news and media. I remember back in 2010 when I moved to New York. Instagram had just launched (on mobile) and Twitter was nerdy and small.
I used both of the new platforms to meet people in real life. It was open and exciting. The noise could be turned into real life experiences. I still think corners of these platforms are healthy but most of it has turned into noise.

I started thinking about ways to remove myself from the chaos. I tried disabling for a week, but I was always pulled back in. I also was having a hard time with the idea of losing the clout I had built over the years.

I think I've landed on something that works for me so far. I'm keeping my Twitter and Instagram open, but I'm unfollowing everyone (slowly but surely). If I unfollow you, donā€™t take it personally. Itā€™s me, not you. My feed is empty. The noise is muted. Yet I can still publish content if I need to.

This newsletter and my website are a way to keep sharing and connecting with friends by creating slow content. More thoughtful. More personal. I hope you enjoy it.

Hereā€™s two articles I recommend reading on this subject:Ā 

- The Rise of Slow Feeds, an article about how this slow feed movement is gaining momentum.Ā 

- How to delete all your content from Twitter. This is what I used to guide me. Itā€™s actually ~ complicated to remove all your data.Ā 

Links šŸ”—

Social Media is one thing but hereā€™s a few other ideas Iā€™ve loved using to slow down in my life.Ā 

- Wabi-Sabi for Artists. Wabi Sabi is a term that comes from two Japanese words mashed together and it is rarely defined, indeed it kind of avoids being defined. The author says Japanese people know the feeling but not the definition. A short read that made me think differently about design and nature. šŸ‡ÆšŸ‡µ

- Stendig Calendar. Created by legendary Italian designer Massimo Vignelli in 1966, the Stendig remains one of the best examples of 1960s modernist design, featuring two of the movementā€™s most iconic creations - Swiss typeface Helvetica and the Grid. I buy mine each year and I really enjoy tearing pages off up each month. I recycle the paper for gift wrapping. šŸŽ

- Post-it Flex. A whiteboard you stick on your wall. Iā€™ve been using this for a year now. When Iā€™m dealing with something complex or simply need to remember a todo. Itā€™s always there and easy to clean up. I keep it in my office. āœļø

- Mainichi-Koh Sandalwood Incense. Literally translated from the Japanese, Mainichi-Koh means ā€œIncense for everydayā€. They are inexpensive to use. Itā€™s a great way to start a new idea or simply your day. šŸŒŠ

Photos šŸ“ø

Removing myself from social platforms means looking at different ways to share photos. Iā€™m experimenting with adding them to my website. Iā€™ve been walking to get out of the house and taking my film camera to shoot a few shots on each stroll.


Say hi šŸ‘‹

Anything you've done to slow down lately? I would love to hear from you. Hit reply even if itā€™s just to say hi!

Cheers,
Miles