Adarsh

October 17, 2024

A personal story



I move terribly. I was never good at any sport. Not particularly gifted with thick joints or any predisposition to pack on muscle readily. In short, never excelled at any sport or academics, did not take naturally to running, climbing, swimming or riding any thing or any animal. 

But I like problem solving. Again not puzzles, board games, treasure hunts or riddles. Just problems like making a better stool (to sit on), tables, squat racks, barbells, gym equipment, door handles and other random things. I also enjoy getting better at performing exercises. Making a push up, squat or pull up look simple appeals to me. It’s a problem I enjoy solving. 

At some point problem solving became a game for me. Doing an exercise well and digging into the how and why was fun. The way some people feel at the end of a long run, on stage in a bodybuilding competition, when they nail a promotion, pick a winning stock and cash out, have a great conversation with a friend. 

I have that feeling when I make progress on my one arm push up, single leg squat or glute ham raise. Getting better at performing an exercise makes me feel good. That might strike some as an odd motivation. Not a desire for a perfect body, chase low body fat or win a powerlifting competition. But it keeps me moving an hour or two a day. And this ‘habit’ has resulted in strength never being a limiting factor in my everyday life. I have never needed a hand with heavy objects unless they’re more than 80% of my height. Never struggled to hoist myself over a locked gate. Never used a stroller or baby carrier. Ava, my daughter, was always in my arms or on my shoulders as I paced around the neighbourhood.

A friction-free existence is why I like solving the problem of getting stronger. How about you?

About Adarsh


- I run a strength and conditioning facility in Chennai, India
- I work with my clients to make training and eating for better body composition a part of everyday life
- I coach online and in-person
- I design and manufacture strength training equipment for use in our strength training facility