Adarsh

October 17, 2024

Doctors Without Borders

I know everybody wants to build big muscles. Even I was like that. I loved bodybuilding. I used to participate in all these contests, but there's nothing like yoga. Yoga has a magical impact on your life. Believe me, at least for 10-15 minutes every day practice yoga and then, please quit smoking."

This is a an excerpt from an interview with a renowned doctor. 

Doctors seem to have a free pass on being precise with their communication. I often find them weighing in on all things human body, exercise, fitness and health, even if they can't support their claims with the logic of cause and effect. And the public buys in hook, line and sinker. 

The idea that strength training = bodybuilding = big muscles is not just simplistic. It exposes a basic lack of understanding of what strength training and lifting weights can do for a person. 

Sure, I am here to sell strength training. But you don’t need a degree or doctorate to be right about something. Strength training is the simple act of making a muscle contract in a specific way to produce force, overcome inertia and possibly produce movement. But by equating strength training to the sport of bodybuilding, the good doctor is essentially telling people that strength training is for vanity, while yoga is for quality of life. This is misleading and wrong. 

Strength training gives you precise tool kit of exercises, dosages, equipment, programs, plans, all backed by a clear link between cause and effect. We have a good understanding of what happens to tendons, ligaments, bones and muscles when you perform a certain exercise in fixed doses and frequency. This body of knowledge only grows by the day.

Some doctors do their patients a disservice by ignoring the science of strength training and how much it can boost quality of life. I guess one of the symptoms of a God complex is believing you are omnipotent.


About Adarsh


- I run a strength and conditioning facility in Chennai, India
- I work with my clients to make training and eating for better body composition a part of everyday life
- I coach online and in-person
- I design and manufacture strength training equipment for use in our strength training facility