Adarsh

October 16, 2024

Not so great expectations

I have been glib with the use of the term ‘quality of life’. I do believe training consistently improves it. But what are the different things that constitute ‘quality of life’? 

I have no expectation of being able to hike along a river or water body in Madras on a daily basis. The water body below is a kilometer from my house. It has the potential to be a terrific hiking or cycling path. But I’ve seen engine oil, chromate, plastic, thermocol, faeces and a variety of chemicals dumped in it. 

I have zero expectation that Madras will change and become a place conducive for good health let alone an active lifestyle. 

I’ll have more luck winning a diversity visa lottery program than expect any Indian urban space to be good for activity in my lifetime. I don’t let this get to me. 

Here is what I control

*How I spend my time
*What I spend on food, water and a relatively safe and clean home 
*Who I hang out with and what they expect in terms of time and attention
*What is a good time according to the people who I surround myself with every single day. 
*My food intake 
*My activity levels 
*Planning my day to avoid traffic 
*Finding a training community I enjoy 
*Setting up a conducive environment to move, train, sleep and deal with things as calmly as possible. 
*My tolerance for physical hardship such as a strenuous run, hike or even moving furniture over a few floors.
*My capacity to lift and interact with everyday physical objects without assistance. 
*Being strong improves the odds of bouncing back from illness or accidents. 
*Even when I am hurt or injured, i can be physically more useful than most people.
*My lifestyle and independence should be unaffected by age. This is impossible but worth aspiring to. 
*Travel outside the country or to a lesser known locale once a year to enjoy the great outdoors or even a civil urban scape. 

Here’s what I don’t control and don’t expect in my lifetime 

*Air quality to be good 
*Water quality 
*Upkeep of public spaces 
*Expecting any kind of common area for comfortable physical activity. 
*Civil traffic that respects footpaths, running paths, cycle paths.
*Consistently expect maintenance of exercise or training equipment in a public setting. 
*Clean, hygienic and healthy food in most restaurants.
*A general population that can respect the amazing coastline and beautiful rivers,lakes and forests that span across the city.

About Adarsh


- I run a strength and conditioning facility in Chennai, India
- I work with my clients to make training and eating for better body composition a part of everyday life
- I coach online and in-person
- I design and manufacture strength training equipment for use in our strength training facility