Adarsh

October 16, 2024

Pairing sweeteners with appropriate foods


Here’s a common issue with non-nutritive sweeteners. They just taste strange. Either it’s the aftertaste or a flavour that clashes with the primary flavour. 

I am addressing this simply because the struggle to make non-nutritive sweeteners taste good is real. Here are my preferences and how I use them. 

***************************
Erythritol : you’ll probably need to use a little more of this versus sugar since erythritol is a little less potent. You’ll find it in most low-cal ice creams. 

Goes well with cold protein shakes. It skews the texture of chocolates. It is usually paired with stevia to sweeten chocolates. It can also be used for overnight oats. 

But note that erythritol does cause bloating and discomfort for some people. This is due to water retention as undigested erythritol passes through your lower intestine. 
****************************
Monk fruit : comes in drops. You require 2-3 drops for a shake to serve one person. 

It pairs best with fruit, coconut milk or coconut water. 

I personally don’t like how it pairs with cocoa. But I know some folks don’t mind it. 

In my opinion, it does not pair too well with dairy. 

Monkfruit usually causes no bloating or discomfort. 
*****************************
Stevia: this is my least favourite sweetener. The herby after-taste throws me off. It is usually paired with erythritol to cut down the after-taste. 

I don’t enjoy chocolates sweetened with the combo or stevia alone. But a few of my clients tell me they don’t mind it. 

I did not enjoy shakes with stevia. I thought monkfruit or erythritol did a much better job. Again individual preferences could vary. 
******************************
Sorbitol, Malitol and sugar alcohols: This is my favourite combination to sweeten chocolates. 

Try the ITC Fabelle Ganache (sugar free) that is sweetened with this combo. The stuff tastes absolutely terrific. 

Only problem: the no- sugar ganache contains just as many calories as the sugar-laden ganache. But there are sugar-free chocolates that do manage a lower calorie count. But most don’t. 
*******************************
Aspartame, acesulfame potassium: These are the most demonized of the lot. The only contextual use that I enjoy for these two sweeteners is Coca Cola. 

Diet Coke uses just aspartame. Coke Zero uses a combo of the two. People seem to prefer either. The more problematic aspect of Coke is the can. The BPA lining is a bigger problem than either of the non-nutritive sweeteners. But it really isn’t an issue if it a rare indulgence. 

Some dairy beverages elsewhere in Asia use both to sweeten protein shakes and flavoured milk. They taste quite alright! 
********************************

Coffee and tea: I personally don’t like anything other than old fashioned sugar or jaggery. I’ve phased way to one cube of sugar in my coffee. That’s 16 calories. I think moderation of nutritive sweeteners is the way to go with coffee and tea.

About Adarsh


- I run a strength and conditioning facility in Chennai, India
- I work with my clients to make training and eating for better body composition a part of everyday life
- I coach online and in-person
- I design and manufacture strength training equipment for use in our strength training facility