Adarsh

October 16, 2024

The distinction between coaching and training

In our gym and online, we try operate in this nebulous zone between getting out of the clients way when they are training and intervening only when we think we have something truly useful to say or cue. 

When a client first walks in, we spend a lot more time coaching. Showing them how it looks. Telling them what it is. Finding out if they learn by watching or respond to hearing. We say it many ways to figure out what resonates best. 

With time the client learns the ropes, my role is to keep things moving. Cueing, nudging and moving things along. 

On occasion, we get to coach again. Teach something new. Figure out how to say it and show it so it gets done reasonably. And we iterate to make it better. And again get out of the way. 

Me and my team have done this for a decade. Day in, day out. That’s us coaching our clients to train. Knowing what to say, show enough and mostly get out of the way to keep things moving.

About Adarsh


- I run a strength and conditioning facility in Chennai, India
- I work with my clients to make training and eating for better body composition a part of everyday life
- I coach online and in-person
- I design and manufacture strength training equipment for use in our strength training facility