Adarsh

October 16, 2024

The ephemeral trigger event

* What makes you think about exercise ? 

Someone terrible happens in your close circle 

A physically demanding goal

A medical scare 

Bad blood work 

Old photos 

Social media or a movie 

* What makes you do something about it ? 

A social media post :D 

A determined spouse 

A pushy family member 

A motivational piece of media 

A movie 

* What makes you keep doing something about it ?

Now this question is the key one. The scare is behind you. Your immediate circle will tire of nudging you. And you can’t keep drawing blood every day. 

What keeps you going is a genuine belief that you are working towards something useful that actively improves your quality of life and helps you deal with life. 

Every single day this belief needs to actively compete and win against the demons of ‘my body is fine the way it is’, ‘that article says fat can be healthy and fit’, ‘there’s always tomorrow’, ‘I could still get cancer’, ‘it’s just another drink’, ‘I am too stressed for this now’ among others. Most people lose this fight and forget why they considered doing the useful things they do in the first place.

About Adarsh


- I run a strength and conditioning facility in Chennai, India
- I work with my clients to make training and eating for better body composition a part of everyday life
- I coach online and in-person
- I design and manufacture strength training equipment for use in our strength training facility