Adarsh

October 16, 2024

What works for you versus advocating it for others

1725179016317.jpeg

I’ve been wearing barefoot sandals every single day since October 4, 2015. Before which I wore barefoot shoes since 2014. I’ve worn non-barefoot footwear on four occasions since: all weddings including mine. 

My point is not my fealty to Luna or barefoot footwear. It works for me. My feet feel more comfortable. I feel better training in barefoot footwear. I can hike and walk in them for miles without trouble. And my ankles feel stronger (I used to roll my ankles a lot earlier). 

But I am not going to indiscriminately recommend barefoot shoes to every client or friend that asks. 

There are personal choices that work for me in the very specific context of my lifestyle and personal comfort. It took some effort, time and attention
to make it work for me. 

It might not work for everyone. 

High volume pull ups, weird grip training, single arm push up progressions, whacky single leg training, biphasic sleeping etc. The list of things I do that work for me might strike some as weird. 

Takeaway 

Recommendations need context. What does it take to make something work? How much effort. How much time. What circumstances does it not work under. 

Running a marathon within a month of transitioning to barefoot footwear makes no sense. 

Trying to walk 10000 steps a day one day 2 of using barefoot footwear would be asinine. 

And trying to do a squat after a years spent squatting in shoes with thick, cushioned heels will feel unfamiliar. 

Any change takes time to gradually adjust to it. Be it training, footwear, coaching or food choices. 

PS : Amazon no longer stocks these sandals. Back in 2015, Amazon used to have some very interesting products as part of their global store. A local venture named Gambol stocks barefoot sandals at a hefty premium to the American prices.

About Adarsh


- I run a strength and conditioning facility in Chennai, India
- I work with my clients to make training and eating for better body composition a part of everyday life
- I coach online and in-person
- I design and manufacture strength training equipment for use in our strength training facility