Petros Amoiridis

December 15, 2023

Making games and apps, little stars ✨

This is what I have always wanted to be. A creator. I am not a creator of tangible things. I like writing software. One can say software is tangible through the appliance it runs on. Yes, you could say that. In any case, that's who I want to be.

Here's my new tagline:

Making games and apps, little stars ✨

The phrase little stars comes from Nightwish's song Shoemaker lyrics:

Here I came to be
Your reach into the far
On the stellar see
Cut in little stars

The idea comes from Shakespeare:

And when he shall die
Take him and cut him out in little stars
And he will make the face of heaven so fine
That all the world will be in love with the night
And pay no worship to the garish sun

W. Shakespeare / Romeo And Juliet

What are little stars? Except being perfect and bright? They are not complicated from far away. They may be complicated systems. But the light on dark, tranquil appearance in the night sky, is simple and uncomplicated.

That's my games. That's my apps. In the ocean of complexity, feature creep, configuration hell, a heaven of simplicity and convention lies before you. That's what I hope to create.

I am targeting the long tail but I don't want to be absolute. Enterprise software is also notorious for its complexity. Especially the type of software you can configure to death. Configuration and application in a company setting is a project itself. In some cases it needs armies of consultants that work up to a year before the company can even start using it.

So what is it? Am I an indie game developer or an indie app developer. I am a creator 😃. Making games and apps, little stars ✨.

About Petros Amoiridis

Programmer. Check https://petros.blog/about.