Petros Amoiridis

June 8, 2022

Video and photo filters on social media

There's a campaign from Dove lately in Greece on how photo or video filters in social media influence people.

I read that 80% of girls between the age of 10-17, would change their image using filters to look like their favorite influencers. I don't have a reference of the research I am afraid.

And the campaign continues urging influencers to tell the truth about their own image. And state it clearly when they use a filter.

This is all about self-esteem.

I was thinking from a product and company ethics perspective.

Αll social apps could add a little badge on the photo/video that indicates a filter has been used.

Or better yet. Add a badge when there’s no filter. And celebrate that.

I wonder, how could we push the companies to do something like that? Celebrate our true image.

About Petros Amoiridis

Programmer. Check https://petros.blog/about.