Pret Bram

June 18, 2021

Using, Consuming, Doing [#1]

This is the first post in a series I'm calling Using, Consuming, Doing.  It's an idea inspired by Jason Fried's 'Heard Something, Read Something, Saw Something'.  I will write these up whenever I want to share new products / services I've been using, what I'm reading, watching, listening to, etc.  And whatever projects I'm working on. ✌️

Using 🔥

Here's a list of products (mostly software) that I've been using lately:

  • HEY - So fresh.  I was critical at first, but then I learned. 
  • Notion - Wikis, notes, docs, templates, webpages.  It's incredible.
  • Mailbrew - Couple this with The Feed in HEY, trust me. 
  • iPad Pro + Apple Pencil + Magic Keyboard - I still use my MacBook Pro, but not to draw on Procreate.
  • Polywork - I'll get you an invite.  A serious threat to LinkedIn once their mobile app is ready.
  • y.at - So strangely addicting. I have 😎🤡🤖🤔.y.at redirecting to my personal site.  
  • Tally - Easily create a form and integrate with Notion's public API to populate a database.  
  • VS Code - I've found this to be the best option.  Free.  Popular.  Powerful.
  • Github - Learning the basics here.  There are some really cool repos out there.  Explore! 
  • Loom - Screen recording, video, audio.  I'm all about it. 
  • Topo Commuter Briefcase - The design and quality blows me away. 

Consuming 🤓

This is a collection of what I've recently been taking in:


Doing 👨‍💻

Some of what I've been focused on:

  • Personal site - I like simple.  Maybe because it's all I can do right now.  Major 37signals inspiration.  
  • Chess - CSCC Tournaments on Sunday evenings with a beer.  And I've been using this basic Python tool to convert PGNs (Portable Game Notation) of certain games into GIFs.  I have started on a repository here.
  • Guitar - I've been hooked on a specific sound for the past 6 years.  Am - F - C - G.
  • Writing - I like writers, writings, and writing.  I'm all over the place with it right now.  
  • FD Pro ✈️
  • Product Management - There's an entire product universe out there.  Last week I found myself looped into a Telegram, Slack, Discord community performing a case study on a hypothetical startup. 

Take care! -Pret