Rafael Slonik

March 4, 2021

HEY World, I am back to blogging

I am struggling for some time now to start to write again. I've had personal blogs in the past and recently I missed so much to have a space to try to express in words some of the things in my head.

Now HEY, from Basecamp, out of nowhere came up with this blog thing directly from your email. Whatahell. Just in time when I was again doing some renovation in my personal blog to start writing.

All my recent attempts to write again went bad because I start to worry about simplicity, about not having server, a WP installation, plugins, database, whatever. Last week I sat down to write but then started to think how to hook something up with Cloudflare Workers (their server is no server, right?). Started coding, and didn't write...

I want to get back to write something longer because I can recognize I became addicted to Twitter. It must stop but I don't know how. I've tried methods that made me stop using Facebook and Instagram, but nothing works. And this addiction changed me, I suffer to put some paragraphs together. You are reading this now and I am sure you can agree with me on this. My text do not connect thoughts well. Why? 140 chars addiction (280 now, oh sorry, much better addiction).

So let me try HEY World.

I trust Basecamp will try to do the right thing. I trust Basecamp will not just kill this service because they can't figure a way to billion-monetize it. I am trusting Basecamp will keep my written thoughts better than Twitter. 

Maybe this will work out for me as a way to stop my avid Twitter dopamine addiction and to connect to new people - because why the hell internet was created? One thing I know: it's not to generate Zucks and Musks.