Rafael Slonik

March 5, 2021

Why my business fail?

I was reading some advice on the importance of selling and one thought clicked in my head, let me share that with you.

Children are raised (at least where I am from) protected from all the world's dangers. Our parents give us love, food, attention. Most of us have this for granted, at least in some level.

So, we think we deserve.

Then we go into the world and create things. In our computers, inside our homes. Wiring some code, some design together. Voilá, a product is born. It's our child. And because we were raised deserving love, food and attention, we believe our product child deserves the same. We release our child into the wild world...

And it fails.

So do we. 

What is wrong with my product? Is it not polished enough? Why people don't give the attention it deserves?

What is wrong with me? My skills aren't enough? Why people don't like me and don't give me the love and attention I deserve?

Do you see what is wrong? I see now.

We don't fail enough. We take it for granted. We are afraid that people won't love what we created and for that, we feel we don't deserve love. It's a powerful thing to realize that. Then we blame the world, we blame other people.

And that is so hard to admit. So hard. When you read it somewhere you can agree, but you won't learn. Learn comes with experience. Learn comes with failure.

The importance of selling. Try to go there and sell. Block all the excuses that will try to stop you: 

- "but I need to fix this first"
- "our design is ugly"
- "my company still need some paperwork done"
- "what if customer asks for X?"
- "what if customers asks something that I don't know?"
- "what if...."

What specifically clicked for me today is what helped me with relationships: there are so many people in the world, It's fine if some of them doesn't like me. I am sure there will be many that will enjoy my company, my thoughts....and my products.

So, find those people. Sell to them. Your business will succeed.