Riley Nottingham

June 15, 2021

#25 Rehearse like you perform

My acting teacher once told me, “Rehearse like you perform.”

What does that mean to me?

It means if you are going through certain parts of your life with any of these phrases sounding familiar (list below) you are probably, potentially, almost certainly doomed to fail in whatever you are trying to achieve OR it is a significant sign that you are not living in reality:

“It doesn’t matter yet.”
“It’ll be good on the day.”
“It’ll or I’ll be ready when...”
“As soon as there’s pressure I’ll perform.”
“She’ll be right.”

I have recently had a big surprise, a big, shocking, surprise that I’m taking as a wonderful lesson!

Confidence that things will turn out okay is not actually confidence; it’s a guess. 

Knowing something will turn out as good as it can possibly be is a fact if you choose to make it so.  Because you’ve done the work. 

Reality doesn’t require you to believe it, defend it or even adhere to it. It just IS, and it will hit you like a ton of bricks if you aren’t careful. (And even if you are!)

Please don’t take this as a negative thing. It’s amazing - YOU can live in reality, a reality where anything and everything is in your reach. 

Now good luck, soldier!