Riley Nottingham

May 23, 2021

#3 Sacrifice with Turkey Rissoles

Often - maybe even always -  discipline, consistency and long-term planning starts with the smallest things.

For instance, this morning I really didn't come home from the gym wanting to eat turkey rissoles. I felt like some protein, sure, but maybe some eggs, bacon, beans, porridge, a vegan protein shake... the world's my bloody oyster isn't it?!

(I don't like oysters)

But, no. I did the noble thing. The harder thing. The right thing. These turkey rissoles were long ago frozen to extend their life, and recently cooked up. I knew if I didn't eat them this morning I'd have to throw them out, and the only real reason I didn't feel like eating them was because they're quite a boring thing to eat - they're just one thing. Bacon & eggs has the crunch and softness, acai bowl has again crunch of the granola and the sweet, slippery, fruity goodness.

But turkey rissoles.... *sighs*

If you can start off your day doing something you don't necessary 'feel' like but in your heart of hearts, you know it's a good decision - I truly think that sets you up for a good day.

Sometimes boring is good. Check back in to see if I get food poisoning. 

P.S. In fancy restaurants, what is the origin of oysters being offered with Champagne?