Riley Nottingham

May 25, 2021

#4 Three Steps

In squash, there are three main steps to get ready to hit the ball. You have to get your legs in position, your racquet up, and drive the ball toward the back of the court.

Step into position, racquet up, drive. Repeat.

I love playing squash because it's almost the only sport I've ever played that helps me to be really in the moment; even if I don't fully feel like it, after 10 or 20 minutes I'm a dog chasing a bone; focussed on that little squishy ball.

It got me thinking today that a lot of tasks I do are (or can be!) as simple as this, at their heart.

Acting: Learn the lines, connect, play. Repeat.
Producing: Communicate, make a decision, shoot. Repeat.

10 steps in a process is interesting. Three is more interesting. What three step processes do you use to get ready to 'go' in your world?