Riley Nottingham

May 25, 2021

#5 Right Now

There is only ever today. There is only ever this moment.

I spend a lot of time worrying about the future. I spent some time worrying about the past. Instead of being in the present, I’m often attached to my past and how that may impact my future.

I think it’s pretty natural that humans want to exert control on our surroundings, and predict or guarantee exactly what is going to happen at any time. But really, there is never any certainty. 

Even when you think you have a dinner reservation, you can turn up and the restaurant has accidentally given away your table.

Even when you book a flight, it can be cancelled.

Even when you are offered a job, even when you sign a contract, it can be broken. 

Even when you are told terrible, awful news, it can be reversed or questioned.

Even when someone someone says, “This is definitely the case!” the opposite is almost always true, as well. 

I have seen myriad examples of things that are presented as fact, that are shortly after completely, undeniably contradicted. 

As Basecamp (then 37 Signals) said long ago, planning is guessing. 

The good news is, we do have one certainty and that is what we are doing, thinking, feeling, being right now.

Right. Now. 

And now. 

And... now. As well.