Saif Ali Shaik

December 24, 2022

2022

I will remember 2022 as one of those years that evolved who I am. 

I had lot of habits that carried on from last year. I wake up in the morning, book a rapido and go to office. The world was seeing light post covid and I'm getting back on a daily track. 

March challenged me like never before in life when it comes to emotional quotient. It helped me apply stockdales paradox to suffer few consequences like it's my responsibility. This levelled up my ability to digest risk and I started exploring beyond the bubble I'm in. 

Big step - I moved to Hyderabad. 

  • It's new, but not my comfort zone. I started building new relationships at a new office. It was an welcoming experience 
  • I found an alternative mentors who were decade or two older to me, talking things about their finances, work at Freshworks and family life. It prepared me a little.
  • Revanth and I moved in single two sharing room. Our only sole objective was to have fun, explore food and chat with strangers. I roamed all over Hyderabad like there's no tommorow. 
  • Simraan and I had a chance get in touch together and spend time like we used to when we were kids. Refreshing. Reminded me how much I've changed. 
  • We found new common friends and planned things that would keep us busy every single weekend. 
  • Like one should atleast for experience , I paid for a fake Apple product. 

At work during the same Q2, I was both struggle to maintain my mental posture. I would say, I had a lot of support from Satwik, Ravi and Kaustav. 

Q3 has built me some amazing habits. I started going to Zumba classes. It was something I always wanted to do. Who knew I'd spend 10k just to buy shoes that will support my Zumba workout. 

  • I started to experiment 1/3rd of my food budget to try new food items. 
  • I started applying this 8 hr work, 8 hr life and 8 hr sleep rule. It's worth it. 
  • Nisa helped me grow my perspective over asking psychology questions - How was your day? What made you feel this way? Do you want to talk about it? all were too simple yet powerful questions. I belive she somehow stood by to shape me a competent and no prejudice oriented person against anyone. 

This book - 12 rules for life by Jordan B Peterson has helped to survive through crisis. It would support in the situations when cut is nearer to the bone. Rule #1 - Stand Up Straight with Your Shoulders Back. 

I became more courageous to deal with people at work. I had my focus on one's intentions. I shift from saying "I will do this task" to "I will get this project done" because I knew people involved. 

Q4 was an optimistic period for me over what I can do with my career. I could sense what problems would should be able to solve as a team. This foresight definitely paid back in proving to be foundations for next year. 

  • Juhi and Teja decide to pursue a new opportunity. I'm excited for them as much as they are for themselves. 
  • I was able to clearly participate in Year long plans for the team and see through the lens of organizational challenges. 

Like always I would want to, I did plan a medical check up for me and parents like I did last year. Hope this grows up to a proper cadence. I bought a dad's day out in hyderabad and both of roamed around Hyderabad to show him what's new in Hyderabad since he saw it 2 decades ago. 

Financially I had enough learnings and start to work towards near term financial goals - Home, Bike or a Car. 

Vacations worked out very well. I've been to Lonavala, Pune and now Coorg, near Banglore.

Diving into 2023,

  • From Career perspective, I would like take more initiatives that will help me lead others.
  • Personally, I am still figuring out.

 
IMG_20221217_170845.jpg


I am glad that I do not have anything to look back but more over look forward in 2023.


About Saif Ali Shaik

Hey, I'm Saif. Writing is one of my favorite habits. I journal about my learnings for the world to read. Some appreciate it if that adds value. This page you are seeing is my only social media. Welcome to my World of shower thoughts!