Saif Ali Shaik

March 18, 2021

Be the Mentee you'd ever want

Call it Trainee, Mentee, Intern. The fact is the learnings those are attractive to you in this phase shape some of the most important perspectives of the career. This is exactly why taking best advantage of this temporary role is crucial to make great career choices.


Don't try to be important person in the room

It is quite natural to feel you want to be recognised. Zoomers grew up in the era where every single thing has been validated by social media. It's no longer craving for food, but craving for attention, dopamine and validation. Recognise this. Now.

Trying to be recognised is an incentive to help you make progress. Beyond a point, it translates to attention that distracts you from making progress. Surprising, isn't it?

Display vulnerability

Always assume you don't know enough. No matter how much you may feel you know. Always assume you don't know enough. This is safest assumption because, if someone knows it all, then we never need a team in the first place.

Be self contented. Always start with what you've tried rather than what you've accomplished. Listen to people's comments. Don't react but try to respond if you can. At the end of the day, almost all of the problems you face as an Mentee will fade away if you start ignoring your assumptions.

Learn people experiences

It is very comfortable to find same aged people and start talking about same topics over and over and over. Try to involve yourself within different age group. Listen to their experiences and learn lessons from their conversations. Be friends with them. It might be hard, but put the effort that deserves.

What is easy for you might not be easy for others. What is harder for you might be obvious for others. The mental models you have about a problem is not same with other people in the same group. Try to picture them. It's hard. Put effort. I promise it will be worth it for all reasons.  

When you are with group of people, learn as much as you can. Leaders who brought this group together have worked hard to build a talented group. You should try to learn especially when no one teaches. There is no desirable set behaviour anymore. Understand the thoughts of people you look up to and who those fascinate you. Get to the bottom of those thoughts. Deeply understand the reasonings.

Practice being polite

Find out what you are not expert at. Watch every word you speak. 

I presented last week a plan for [X].  My sense is this went well, yet [Y] could have been better.  What’s your read?  Did I assess this correctly?

I’m trying to build a relationship with [X].  I view it as important for [Y] reason.  I’ve seen success [here] but challenge [there].  What’s your take?  Do you see this as important and worth the priority that I’m giving it?  And do you agree with the angle i’m taking and my strategy?

Last week you made a point in our team review that I am going to repeat back to ensure I understand.  I heard you say [X], and I interpreted it [this way].  Is this right?  This feedback is really helpful so please keep it coming.

I lost my composure last week and didn’t feel great about it.  Though I still believe in what I was trying to communicate, the tone was off.  Here’s what I would do next time and wanted to get your take.  From what you are hearing, is that a reasonable interpretation and go forward plan?

I will not elaborate. But you get the picture. Stop saying you said, you told and you tried. How you articulate makes all the difference.

Quotes are taken from Nikhyl Singhal

About Saif Ali Shaik

Hey, I'm Saif. Writing is one of my favorite habits. I journal about my learnings for the world to read. Some appreciate it if that adds value. This page you are seeing is my only social media. Welcome to my World of shower thoughts!