Saif Ali Shaik

December 26, 2021

I got a founder create a lifetime subscription plan (for me)

2021 is primarily a year where I took action to improve my productivity.

It has been a very tough job. I am still not perfect at it. But my efforts during this process have helped me do something which otherwise I would never even bother.

In this Journal, I will write about a small story of me writing to an app on the Android App Store founder and getting him to roll out a lifetime subscription plan.

One of the patterns that emerged out while I tried to improve my productivity is that I missed the sense of spending. Like most of us, I become mindful when I spend ₹100 of my wallet; I know there's only ₹400 left. But I never become conscious when I spend ⏲ 1 hr of a day, I have ⏲ 23 hrs left. Why? 🤷‍♂️
 
In August 2021, when I looked for a tool to help me develop mindfulness, I came across an app called blocos.

The strategy is simple. Try the app for a few weeks. If I believe I will use it, pay for a premium.

Screenshot 2021-12-26 at 12.01.40 PM.png


I tried the app on and off for a few days. Eventually, I seemed to get the hang of it. Every day I wake up, the app helps me think I get 102 blocks a day to spend after sleep. I have to use these 102 blocks mindfully. So, I select multiple blocks, assign them the task I want, and get the job done. This always reminds my blocks are limited.

Screenshot_20211226-130519.jpg


Eventually, with time I can also see analytics.

 Because without data, it's easy to get from nowhere to somewhere. But with data, I can get from somewhere to where I want to be. 

But getting data is premium feature. It looks like this:

Screenshot_20211226-122239.jpg


I believe I did reach somewhere over a few weeks. However, if I needed to work upon myself, I needed features like backing up my data and analytics. The pricing of this app is subscription-based. It means I am required to pay monthly or yearly.

₹599/month. That's about ₹7200/year.

I sent an email to their support team.

Screenshot 2021-12-26 at 1.19.28 PM.png


From the app experience, I assumed the team was from Brazil, and the team could be less than ten members. Requesting them to lower the monthly subscription cost is not attractive if I were a founder. I would probably spare three months of the requested lower price and then back to usual fees.

So I planted a new idea that the app was missing out on compared to similar apps in the same category – The lifetime subscription option. I guessed someone would respond.

The founder did. A week later.

Screenshot 2021-12-26 at 1.16.04 PM.png

My assumption worked very well. I felt more confident in his last paragraph. It tells me a lot about his openness about learning his customers. He is open to learning my behavior and assumes there are a lot of others like me who would pay.

I taught him what he wanted to learn. I painted a customer persona for him.

Screenshot 2021-12-26 at 1.31.49 PM.png

We went on exchanging two more emails in between.

Finally, Frits was convinced.

Screenshot 2021-12-26 at 1.32.56 PM.png


A few more weeks went by.

Eventually, the blocos app released a lifetime subscription plan priced at ₹2350.

Screenshot 2021-12-26 at 1.36.36 PM.png


Sometimes, I guess, what you need is simply an "ask" away.

About Saif Ali Shaik

Hey, I'm Saif. Writing is one of my favorite habits. I journal about my learnings for the world to read. Some appreciate it if that adds value. This page you are seeing is my only social media. Welcome to my World of shower thoughts!