Saif Ali Shaik

May 15, 2021

The good career strategy

For the first time in my life, my inbox saw 12 recruiters knocking on the door to initiate a conversation offering better pay and job role within the last two weeks. These companies range from SaaS companies to the Blockchain space. I never thought I needed to save a template email to nicely say I am not looking for a career switch at my current role or organization. 

When more of my friends have started to look for a change either in their job or choosing higher studies; I thought I would share my thoughts on the following question

But when should someone think of leaving your current job?

This is a question most of us start thinking about only when every morning you get out of bed; you no longer feel satisfied with pay, role, responsibilities, team, and manager. But recently, I discovered a different way of looking at it. But my thoughts are very much limited to product software companies, so they may not be accurate in every case.

The stage of the company greatly sets the boundaries for the organization's growth and your personal growth.


  1. Pre-product companies: Don't join if you need a strong manager. It's chaotic and ideal for entrepreneurs who like uncertainty and embrace change.
  2. Post-product fit companies: If you thrive here, you can bring the right structure and processes. Growth takes place slowly and consistently. If you are already 5-10 yrs into a career, you might be more experienced than anyone in the company and can lead a team. That means to be a captain of a small boat vs a Crew member of a cruise.
  3. Growth Companies: These are rare. People who build processes at scale find a home. The company is not used to doing many things in parallel. Early employees get frustrated with the change as leadership is coming together and possibly rebooting.
  4. Scaled companies: Possibly largest employers. Their teams have various subcultures which make it harder to say if it's a good or bad company. If your project doesn't work out, find another one. Name benefits your brand. Things might move slowly; tenured employees have an edge. It can be harder for you to move a needle in the company.

If you appreciate and thrive with structure and in peacetime, stages 2 and 4 are better choices. If you love wartime and unstructured, constantly changing environments, stages 1 and 3 are for you. If you want a high-performing, experienced manager, don’t look at stages 1 and 2. While I don't have much experience to advise you on what's best for you, Nikhyl's advice is that it's nice to have experienced all 4 types in one's career.

Most of a company's growth is easily understood: more customers, increasing revenue and profits, and higher valuation. It requires multiple products, layers of management, and experienced leaders.

When we start our careers, we all are in well-defined scope with plenty of boundaries. As you grow, scope will increase. But there are two major patterns when you should recognize it's time for someone else who will enjoy your role at your current organization, and you look forward to the next adventure.
  1. When you are growing faster than your company
  2. When your company is growing faster than you

Let's consider case #1
  • Some of us are fast learners, although with not much experience. It's an important skill that puts a lot of pressure on management to challenge us with complex problems to solve.
  • But if you want more responsibility and the company isn't ready, don't exist. You might think you're ready, but your manager might not. Exit when it's a constraint of the company's growth, not a difference of opinion on your performance. Because some skills take more time to learn than others. For example, soft skills.
  • But you'll eventually need to leave if your company doesn't have more customers to satisfy, more team members to manage, or products to deliver. Your company is holding your career back.

Let's consider case #2
  • All of a sudden company grows aggressively. I might not be ready for a senior position, but I am asked to take one. Sure it sounds great to be promoted; soon, I will acknowledge I am not ready yet. I bought a future problem to present.
  • But a new team member suddenly joins, different processes emerge, and I feel unsettled. If I can't keep up, it's time to exit. But there will always be people who can keep up with the pace of growth.

So what is the ideal situation?


  • The company's growth rate is slightly faster than your own. Keeping you challenged and engaged. This experience is just right to be turned into a long-lasting skill.


Nevertheless,

"You should stay for two years in a company minimum"

"Don't stay too long - leave after 5 years"

Following these phrases should be Plan Z.


Instead, set up a new bar for yourself every year -- ensure your growth is fueled by culture, manager, and the company and not hampered by 'inside the building' problems.

Also, I am beginning to see a newer angle to this. It's about the intrapreneurs who innovate just as they do with their startups. Read about the future of entrepreneurship by Girish.

Finally, When it comes to leaving, leave when you can embrace it as an opportunity. Once you find the right speed, enjoy the journey as you will remember.

These are the same reasons I would sweetly say no to other recruiters who are grateful enough to share an opportunity. And obviously, All credit goes to Nikhyl Singhal for the illustrations and thoughts I penned down here. These things come from experience when I don't have it; the people around like him help.

About Saif Ali Shaik

Hey, I'm Saif. Writing is one of my favorite habits. I journal about my learnings for the world to read. Some appreciate it if that adds value. This page you are seeing is my only social media. Welcome to my World of shower thoughts!