Sam Radford

August 17, 2021

A pathway into deeper knowing

I’m reading John Philip Newell’s delightful book ‘Sacred Earth, Sacred Soul’ at the moment.

The most recent chapter I read explored the role of the imagination in Celtic spirituality.

I found this quote, talking about C.S. Lewis, sagacious:

He saw that the world of the imaginal is not simply fantasy, that it can be a pathway into deeper knowing.

This brought to memory how for years I never read fiction. There were too many ‘important’ books to learn from to waste my time in novels, I foolishly thought.

Thankfully, I came to my senses and rediscovered the wonder of fiction. The truth is that fiction can open us up to new ways of seeing and understanding that a non-fiction book might never accomplish. 

And, as Lewis understood, fantasy and the imagination can lead to deeper insight.

–Sam

Got some thoughts on this? I’d love to hear from you – do hit reply or drop me a note.

@samradford | samradford.com

About Sam Radford

Husband, father, lover of books, writer, tech geek, sports fan, and pragmatic idealist from Sheffield, England.