Sam Radford

March 23, 2021

Book Notes: “The Catch” by T.M. Logan

I’ve been struggling to keep my fiction reading pile stocked up lately. I’m not sure why, but whenever I do some hunting around, little is seizing my attention.

Thankfully, my friend Claire came to the rescue last week. She recommended The Catch.

As soon as I saw it, it looked exactly the kind of quick, easy read I was after.

(I enjoy ‘heavier’ fiction reads too. But I like to break things up with something light that doesn’t demand much of me. It’s no doubt why I’ve always appreciated John Grisham!)

The Catch grabbed me as soon as I started reading it. Page turner is a huge understatement. I started it at tea-time on Friday and finished it at just gone midnight!

I don’t think I’ve ever read a book so quickly.

The book is about a couple whose daughter introduces them to a man she’s been dating on the same day she informs them they’re getting married. And everything about the guy seems perfect. The mum (and grandma) think he’s a real – you guessed it – catch. For some reason though, the father, Ed, can’t help but feel that something is off.

When their love-struck daughter announces their plans are to get married in a mere few weeks, Ed realises he doesn’t have long to find out if his doubts are legitimate.

And that’s the launch pad for this gripping thriller.

If you’re after a good, enthralling page-turner, this fits the bill perfectly. The twists and turns leave you unable to stop flipping the pages, eager to find out where it‘s headed – even if you have a good sense of where that might be.

I enjoyed it.

What fiction have you been reading recently that you’d recommend? As I said at the start of this post, my fiction reading pile is, well, not much of a pile right now. Do let me know what’s been captivating you. 

–Sam

About Sam Radford

Husband, father, lover of books, writer, tech geek, sports fan, and pragmatic idealist from Sheffield, England.