Sam Radford

March 11, 2021

Home alone again

For the first time in what feels like forever, I am working from home, alone.

No one is asking for snack every half hour.

My meetings are taking place uninterrupted.

I can work from wherever I want in the house.

And it all feels... strange!

My youngest went back to her Primary school on Monday. And my eldest returned to her Secondary school today. My wife is working at the hospital.

So it’s just me and the dog. Again.

When I chose to become a home-worker several months before the pandemic struck, I naively expected I'd be home alone with my dog most days. Little did I know.

And there’s no denying that there have been a lot of frustrations and challenges with working from home in a house full of people throughout this pandemic. But, whisper it quietly, I’m going to miss them being around a little bit too!

Right now, the house feels a tad empty.

I don’t doubt I’ll get used to it again quickly enough. And hopefully I’ll be able to pick up with some of my treasured remote work activities soon too. Like working from Aesthete, my favourite cafe some days.

But, regardless of my feelings around being home alone again, it’s great to see the girls back in school. And hopefully this time they’re back for good.

What about you? What does your pandemic affected work-life look like at the moment? I’d love to hear from you. 

–Sam

About Sam Radford

Husband, father, lover of books, writer, tech geek, sports fan, and pragmatic idealist from Sheffield, England.