Sam Radford

September 8, 2021

Let us be awake to life

One of my morning meditations recently included the mantra that makes for the title of this post:

Let us be awake to life.

I find it all too easy to drift through life.

Days blur into weeks, which blur into months, which blur into years. 

And before long, I’m repeating the tired refrain: Doesn’t time fly?

I lose sight of the truth that each day is a gift – an opportunity. 

Caught up in the busyness of the day-to-day, I forget to open my eyes. I end up sleep-walking through life.

Hence me finding the mediative mantra a medicine for my soul.

I want to be awake to life! But it’s a choice I have to make afresh at the start of each day.

–Sam

Got some thoughts on this? I’d love to hear from you – do hit reply or drop me a note.

@samradford | samradford.com

About Sam Radford

Husband, father, lover of books, writer, tech geek, sports fan, and pragmatic idealist from Sheffield, England.