Sam Radford

August 3, 2021

Let us serve love with our strength

One of the books I dip into periodically is called Sounds of the Eternal: A Celtic Psalter by John Philip Newell.

It’s a collection of morning and evening prayers for each day of the week.

One line, in the Tuesday morning collection of prayers, has been leaping out at me these last few weeks:

Let us serve love with our strength this day, 
Let us serve love with our strength.

There’s something evocative about this idea of serving love.

I find it a powerful way to start my day, reflecting on what this could look like.

Today I am going to make serving love my priority and do it with everything I’ve got. With my wife, with my kids, my colleagues, my neighbours, and everyone I encounter – both in person and online.

With every situation we face we can ask ourselves: What does this look like from the perspective of serving love?

It’s not dissimilar to the mantra of just be kind that I wrote about yesterday. As well as reminding ourselves to just be kind, we can also ask ourselves what the loving thing to do is.

So, again:

Let us serve love with our strength this day, 
Let us serve love with our strength.

About Sam Radford

Husband, father, lover of books, writer, tech geek, sports fan, and pragmatic idealist from Sheffield, England.