Sam Radford

May 7, 2021

Not missing Facebook

It’s coming up to a month since I announced I was leaving Facebook. It’s been far less of a big deal than I imagined. I’ve hardly thought about it at all. In fact, the only time I can recall thinking about it was my wife’s birthday. (I was interested in having a nosey at all the messages left for her by friends and family.)

Other than that, I’ve not missed it. I’d been reducing my usage for the last few years anyway, so it was less of a shock for me than it might be for others. But stepping away from something I’ve used almost daily for around fifteen years is not nothing!

No longer having the app, not checking it everyday, feels great though. Feels freeing.

Have I missed out on some things? No doubt. But I don’t know what those things are, so I don’t care.

I have a good friendship group. And everyone who I’m close to has other ways of getting in touch with me. So I’m not worried about missing out on something truly important.

I’m still using Twitter and Instagram for now. I’ve not decided what I want to do with those yet. Though Twitter can be toxic for many, I have carefully curated lists enabling me to follow areas of interest in ways that avoid most of the toxicity. And Instagram too is a perfectly pleasant social network I dip into for five to ten minutes most days. If one of those two is to go, it’ll likely be Instagram; mainly because of the Facebook link. 

On a separate note, I’m experimenting with my first ’sabbath week’ starting tomorrow. I’ll be taking a break from blogging, social media, news, and my fitness workouts. The intent is to create space for my mind and body to reset, get rested and refreshed, and to allow more time for reading, journalling, and prayer/meditation. I’m planning to do this every seven weeks. I’ll let you know how it goes!

About Sam Radford

Husband, father, lover of books, writer, tech geek, sports fan, and pragmatic idealist from Sheffield, England.