Sam Radford

November 22, 2021

Thoughts on ‘Maid’

A friend of mine suggested I watch the Netflix show ‘Maid’ recently.

I get a lot of TV show recommendations though, and many end up forgotten. Or on a list that I already have no chance of ever getting through.

But I dived straight into this one. And I’m glad I did.

What an incredible, moving, devastating-yet-heart-warming, depressing-yet-uplifting, show. 

It is intense. 

Gripping and captivating. 

It’s the (true) story of a young mother fleeing an abusive relationship. She finds a job cleaning houses as she fights to provide for her child and build them a better future. 

The challenges she faces are exhausting. 

Her perseverance in the midst of endless obstacles is inspiring.

Those obstacles – many government related – will have you throwing your hands up in despair at a system that appears determined to resist helping people at all costs. 

Though there’s inspiration to be found in this mother’s relentless pursuit of a better life for her and her daughter, not everyone has the same strength. Many collapse under the weight of circumstances like these. It’s a good reminder of what life looks like for far more people than we’d care to admit.

Overall, this is both great TV and a compelling insight into the plight of many.

–Sam

Got some thoughts on this? I’d love to hear from you – do hit reply or drop me a note.

@samradford | samradford.com

About Sam Radford

Husband, father, lover of books, writer, tech geek, sports fan, and pragmatic idealist from Sheffield, England.