Sam Radford

August 24, 2021

What to wear

Clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience.
Colossians 3

‘Clothe yourselves’ is one of my favourite metaphors used by the first century writer Saul of Tarsus. He uses this, and variations of it, in various of his writings when encouraging his readers to live a life of moral virtue. 

I find this helpful. There’s a sense of choice and intention involved. Nobody accidentally gets dressed; we pick the outfit we’re going to wear, and then we put it on.

What if we added a similar intentionality to putting on our ‘moral outfit’ at the start of each day? 

This morning I choose to ‘wear’ compassion, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience in all my interactions with family, friends, neighbours, and colleagues.

This won’t prevent us ever behaving in unkind ways, but it will set our stall out for how we want live that day.

–Sam

Got some thoughts on this? I’d love to hear from you – do hit reply or drop me a note.

@samradford | samradford.com

About Sam Radford

Husband, father, lover of books, writer, tech geek, sports fan, and pragmatic idealist from Sheffield, England.