Sam Radford

December 17, 2022

When there’s too much to do and not enough time

There is always more work I could be doing. I’m yet to come close to clearing my to do list. And there are some things I really should have done by now, but I haven’t. Why? Because work isn’t everything. 

Don’t misunderstand me, I enjoy my work. Well, mostly! But life is more than work. And long, unsustainable working hours is something I never intend to get caught up in. I’m all for going the extra mile when there are genuinely exceptional circumstances, but not as a norm. 

I work hard, I give my all, but then I stop, despite the fact there’s much still to do. If I didn’t stop, I’d never stop, because there’s always more to do. If company deadlines can’t be met by people working reasonable hours, that, in the long term, is a recipe for disaster – for the individual and the company.

It’s not easy for many of us to stop though. We care about our work. We don’t want to let people down. And, like I said, there’s a time and a place for putting in some extra hours. But not all the time.

Having a life outside of work is vital. As in, literally life-preserving. So, consider this your permission to stop. Far more than we realise, work can wait.

–Sam

Have some thoughts on this? I’d love to hear from you—do hit reply or drop me a note. Want to get these posts in your inbox? Sign-up.

About Sam Radford

Husband, father, lover of books, writer, tech geek, sports fan, and pragmatic idealist from Sheffield, England.