Sam Radford

September 1, 2021

You teach best what you most need to learn

“You teach best what you most need to learn,” as the author Richard Bach famously put it. You’re drawn to the subjects you struggle with because you struggle with them – because the stakes feel high to you, so you’re motivated to try to puzzle out some solutions.

I appreciated the paragraph above, pulled from the latest newsletter from Oliver Burkeman

It struck a chord with me because ‘teaching best what I most need to learn’ fits with what I try to do with my blog posts. 

I’m not writing to teach nearly as much as I’m writing to learn. My posts are explorations of topics and themes I need to better understand or grasp. You, as a reader, simply get the prime vantage point for where I’m pursuing growth – though I hope my words induce the same for you too.

It’s a good reminder for us all: If we want to learn something, find a way to start teaching it. Seeking opportunities to teach, doesn’t mean we’re setting ourselves up as a guru; it just means we’re determined to keep learning and growing through sharing.

–Sam

Got some thoughts on this? I’d love to hear from you – do hit reply or drop me a note.

@samradford | samradford.com

About Sam Radford

Husband, father, lover of books, writer, tech geek, sports fan, and pragmatic idealist from Sheffield, England.