Sam Radford

May 28, 2021

Yup, I loved ‘Friends, The Reunion’!

I watched Friends: The Reunion yesterday lunchtime.

I put it on while eating my sandwich, expecting to watch fifteen minutes or so, and then head back upstairs to my office.

A little shy of two hours later, the final credits were rolling.

I loved it!

Friends was the perfect time for me when it first aired. I was at university from 1996 to 1999 and many a Friday night was spent crammed in someone’s living room, watching the latest episode.

Since then, I’ve caught the occasional episode now and then. But I’ve hardly seen it at all since the early noughties.

Watching clips again, hearing the actors reminisce about particular scenes, getting behind-the-scenes insights – it was all delightful.

I can’t remember the last time I laughed and cried so much. 

My friend, Ryan, didn’t share my pleasure, saying this about my watching of the reunion:

I hope you at least did some yoga or something to get a bit of benefit from that time.

Then adding:

You stared at plastic surgery for two hours and felt nothing.

Time will tell whether our friendship can handle the fallout of this disagreement 😉, but my reply captures what I felt watching it:

You’re right. I felt nothing. Nothing but pure joy and nostalgia!

I get it. This isn’t going to be everyone’s cup of tea. But I’m very happy with the time I spent revelling in memories from a show I loved! 

Have a great weekend everyone!

–Sam

Got some thoughts on this? I’d love to hear from you – do hit reply or drop me a note.

@samradford | samradford.com

About Sam Radford

Husband, father, lover of books, writer, tech geek, sports fan, and pragmatic idealist from Sheffield, England.