Michael Smith Jr.

May 24, 2021

Day 416

FYI - I exported my Substack emails and imported them here. It is opt-in so it would ask you if you wanted to join. No hard feelings if you don't.

The number in this post title may not make sense to all of you but I wrote about it here:

https://world.hey.com/smitty/365-days-bc26c09e

I keep a daily log at work on an internal wiki which really has been super useful. I highly recommend this for people. Use an internal blog, note taking software or some form of activity logger. It is public for those at work so I obviously don't put private stuff in it or HR related stuff. But it is nice to look back at it to find something, jog my memory on a meeting or find a link I was looking for. Trick is doing it right and putting in just enough info so that weeks or months later I find something I was looking for.

Well - I am going public with another log of sorts - my own brain's feelings in the morning. Since I started at AWS, I have been pretty muzzled in public for obvious reasons. I could ramp it up but I don't feel like it. However I do miss writing and trying to stick to the core rails which for me now which is Hey World via Hey Email.

I am not sure what I will say, have a process or theme to it but will try to speak daily. I need the therapy.

As of a few weeks ago, I was doing well. Kids in school, gym every other day, lunches out with the wife, meetings out with my team/customers and the occasional drink with others. It had a nice flow to it and is how I am surviving the never being able to go anywhere. I know there are people in rougher spots - I am not complaining but it is tough to be in Singapore with a family and not being able to holiday or see either mine or my wife's family going on over 18 months. 

My parents for example have never met my youngest. Which is sad since she will be grown before they see her at this rate.

Then came the no-lockdown lockdown last week and my heart just sank. No gym, no school, no eating out and even this 2 person rule which as a family of 5 means we can't even kill some time going to the mall.

I had hopes 2021 would see us traveling, visiting some family and taking a break but looks like all signs of that are dashed. Right now just hope 2 more of us get vaccinated soon and that Singapore opens back up.

Till then I am back to home workouts, helping kids with their home based learning (which they hate since they enjoy school) and dreaming of working from a cafe again.

Be safe!