Michael Smith Jr.

June 27, 2021

Day 433 :: I am back

During holiday I would use my iPad to reply to important messages and slacks.

I did not engage, read docs and dig in since i can't connect to most work things on my iPad outside of email, slack and some docs. Some folks would see me working and then tell me to get off but the plan was a light triage since I did not send a holiday message out. 

I think it generally worked to keep the re-entry less terrible.

I caught up on slack in 10 minutes and email took about 1 hour. Sure - I have many new items to follow-up on and lots of docs to read but I am not staring at a nutty inbox.

Holidays without going anywhere don't feel like a holiday at all. Full stop.

I did put work away. Finished a book and started a new one. Did some stuff around the pad, chilled, took more naps than usual, got to the gym, had some meals out and caught a few movies - in the theatre.

I feel better.

Next problem is keeping a better work/life flywheel going for the 2nd half of the year.

Happy Monday!