Michael Smith Jr.

August 2, 2021

Day 483 :: Fuck COVID

I will admit that it is all starting to get to me.

Not being able to hit the gym and lift is a huge downer. I get exercise by going for long walks with my weighted vest or a bike ride with the wifey. I can't do the whole workout at home thing since home is at home and work is at home - 1/3 must be outside the home.

Lockdown sucks.

Not seeing my family for more than 2 years sucks.

Then, I lost a colleague at AWS to COVID. He was my age and also with 3 kids. I can't imagine.

If I look at Singapore, I have hopes we can end this and get back to living.

When I look at Thailand, Malaysia, Vietnam, Philippines, Burma and Indonesia - I get worried cause the vaccination rates are way too low to make a dent.

2021 looks lost. 2022 is a guess at this point.

I remain thankful and incredibly lucky. I am safe, my family is safe and I remain gainfully employed.

Almost seems unfair at this point.

Stay safe!