Michael Smith Jr.

August 8, 2021

Day 485 :: Tuesday!

Singapore appears to be rounding the corner when it comes to trying to get on with life.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/covid-19-vaccinated-unvaccinated-dining-restrictions-aug-10-2097206

Some may be excited about restaurants opening up again and for the sake of the restaurant industry - I am going to do my part by going out a bit on Tuesday.

Personally though I am much more excited about the gym. I seriously crave it. When the first lock downs happened I got into working out at home but this last go around I just couldn't muster any energy for a home workout. I can't do another "thing" at home. Between working at home and just doing home at home - I can't do the workout at home anymore.

I have been using my weighted vest and going for long walks. I use a con-call or two as well to make it happen if the schedule works. For sure it is not like hitting the gym for me but gets me outside and moving.

When I was walking the other day on the green corridor I was spying on a massive new landed house build where I could see a 3rd floor room with huge windows that had practically a full gym setup. If that was home - I could workout at home.

Deep down - I really, really hope this is the last lockdown. I just can't take another. It messes with my head.

Here is hoping to the schools staying open. The gyms staying open. The restaurants staying open.

Next is the road map to travel without quarantine. We are hoping this is all settled by Nov/Dec timeframe. That's the next school holiday and a chance to burn up my holiday days actually leaving the island before I lose them for good.

All this progress in Singapore though is unique to us in Singapore.

The rest of Southeast Asia is not fairing well and it is worrisome. Will be tough for the region to get back to any normalcy when many of the countries have such low vaccine rates. In that regard it feels like we won't see any improvements till next year - probably 2nd half if I am honest with the current situation.

Be safe, get your jab and keep your chin up.