Michael Smith Jr.

August 23, 2021

Day 489 :: M1 Disaster

I have been a happy M1 customer for close to a decade.

First with decent 4G, first with eSIMs and generally good plans and good customer service.

Till now.

It was time to re-contract my wife's phone and I used their app to check re-contract status, found it was time, clicked through to re-contract, picked a new phone, picked a new plan (from the only choices available online) and waited for the phone delivery.

Phone comes and I get it setup but can't figure out how to get the eSIM working. So I call.

Sorry sir - those plans don't come with eSIMs. Wait what? I didn't see that mentioned online anywhere. Why would I choose to lose a key feature? It's a new platform and it doesn't come with eSIM.

A new platform in 2021 doesn't use eSIM? That seems kind of stupid.

What's the fix? Get a SIM card.

Fortunately I complained so much they didn't charge me for said SIM card.

Now we have a phone that isn't ideal for travel since we are using the SIM slot for our home number. Not ideal.

Do they know when these new plans will have eSIMs? No!

Do they even offer plans with eSIMs? Not if you re-contract.

Next issue is I notice my wife's number is gone from My M1 app I use to manage all of our numbers.

I call and ask about that.

Sorry sir - these new plans need a new app and it cannot be managed by one account anymore. Great!

What about the supplementary line attached to my wife's number for the other line that uses the data allowance from my wife's acount?

Sorry sir - that line will revert to a normal paid line now.

Basically M1 rolled out a new platform, broke eSIMs, broke aggregated billing, killed supplementary lines, forced a new app and doesn't really message any of this well during the point of purchase.

I will add that all of the customer service people and the shop people I have dealt with have been fantastic. So the amazing customer service continues but this new M1 Bespoke plan is kind of a mess.

Someone in management at M1 Singapore should own that and let people know they are working on it, there is a roadmap to address it and even potentially explaining why this move was needed or the customer benefits of such a move.

At the moment I don't see any benefits to re-contracting with M1 and will seriously reconsider M1's value when my contract is up for renewal.

One thing to add that I find telling - the automatic bill deduction to my credit card was automatically moved over. Why was billing easily moved and given such priority? ;)

Well. My rant is over.