Michael Smith Jr.

May 10, 2021

Half-Year Marker

It's May. Soon June. 

That means it is almost halfway into 2021.

I have mornings where I wake up and forget for a moment the situation. I try to avoid morning news and tend to listen to some of my fav podcasts that are not "news" related. Truth be told - listen to anything now and something will be said about COVID even if it is not news related.

COVID is here to stay. If I think about it honestly, it is here forever. Doubtful it will be vanquished.

We will all need vaccines and most likely regular updates. Here is hoping mRNA continues to improve.

All that being said I am trying to rethink my life post COVID.

Where do I want to move to or am I in the best place? 

Will my mind change when travel improves? 

My guess is no changes to my mental model for 2021. Singapore is fine.

Will it stay that way for 2022? 

My guess is if the world feels unsteady then I will stay put.

However, when things improve I wonder how badly I will want to change venues?

Net, net is that my life outlook is permanently altered.

I am not complaining though, my family is safe & healthy, I am employed and we get to enjoy the life we have but just without any form of travel or traditional holiday model.

It seems to me we are all in this mode till the world gets vaccinated but that seems to be moving slow.

I hope the later half of 2022 changes all this.

Seize the day!