Michael Smith Jr.

March 5, 2021

How are things?

How are you?

How have you been?

How do you feel?

These are tough questions to answer. 

If I am honest with myself and my feelings, I want to say terrible. I am sick of wearing a mask. I am worn out trying to get my two year old to wear a mask. I am sad knowing my parents have never met said two old. Two year olds are amazing and I really wish my parents could see her, hold her and marvel at her weirdness before she turns three.

I doubt it is gonna happen.

I really want a holiday. No, not a few days off not working. Not a freaking staycation. I want to get on a plane, stay in a resort, do nothing by the beach and eat too much of whatever each night. 

I want Groundhog Day to stop.

Seems for 2021 this is not gonna happen.

But truth needs to be told. I am okay and shouldn’t complain. My family is healthy, Singapore is safe and I am employed. I can eat out, work from a coffee shop and have a long lunch on a Friday with close friends. 

For the most part, apart from the mask, life is pretty normal. As normal as it can be given their is a virus lurking and I am yet to be vaccinated. 

I miss travel though. I miss my parents. I miss seeing what my two year old would look like being held by my Dad for the first time.

COVID sucks.