Michael Smith Jr.

April 2, 2021

Learn or Earn

Probably one of the best ways to describe what a job is about:

https://twitter.com/garrytan/status/1377661970178973696?s=20

Screenshot 2021-04-02 at 4.07.45 PM.png


Learn or earn.

I can easily look back over my career and various jobs to see at times I was consciously having to choose one or the other. Miraculously, there would be a few gigs where I got both.

This is always my cautionary tale about Startups. Most times you will not earn cause generally unless there is an exit, you are being underpaid. It's a fact. Best make sure the Startup has some amazing learning and when that stops it is time to go unless of course it turns the corner and you start earning.

Absolutely nothing wrong with being focused on earning. I find that after years of learning, mostly via Startups, I have to get serious about earning.

Currently I am getting the best of both.

Happy Learning/Earning