Michael Smith Jr.

April 22, 2021

Note taking (digital brain)

Since using a computer, I have always valued using them for writing and note-taking.

Somewhere along the way I got hooked on Evernote, like everyone else, and my whole life was in it. Then at some point the product went south and I bailed - like everyone else.

Not sure I have actually replaced it yet.

I use Apple Notes on my phone for tons of stuff but not note taking or the digital brain.

I played and bailed on Notion. Performance is weak, no offline usage and has too many things.

I tried Roam for a few days and bailed.

One Note but well - it's MSFT.

Simple notes is cool but so simple.

I got hooked on Superhuman email for speed, light UX, keyboard controls and the power elements. It is not needed for personal email though, I use Hey now, and for work I am stuck with Outlook.

Been playing and hunting newish digital brain (notes) tools and starting to like: https://get.mem.ai

  • based on keyboard more than the mouse
  • has a way to capture stuff you are reading outside of the app
  • has a great search interface
  • has sharing stuff but I don't use it
  • it's fast
  • shows relevant data to the piece I am using or editing
  • needs an iOS app but works on iPhone and iPad via the web
  • great support so far

Will let you all know if I stick with it or not.

happy note taking!