Michael Smith Jr.

March 26, 2021

Singapore Rising

I have lived in Asia for over 21 years. Crazy - I know.

When I lived in Hong Kong, I would have business trips to Singapore and was always happy to get on the plane back to HK. When I lived in Thailand, the only time I traveled to Singapore in the 5 years that I lived there was for my Yahoo job interview. Then a few weeks later I moved but secretly lived in both places on and off for many years.

I used to lament Singapore and would tell myself I would never live there.

And here I am.

My 10 year PR renewal will be this year. (For those wondering, the process will consist of a simple online form that should take less than 5 mins)

What switched for me was having a family and getting back into tech. Without a doubt Singapore is leading the way as the place to headquarter your Startup, the place to headquarter your fund and a great city to have a tech career while raising your family.

Now it would seem others agree:

https://www.bcg.com/publications/2021/virtual-mobility-in-the-global-workforce

Asia-Pacific countries, by contrast, have done a better job of containing the virus, and this has helped them move up in the rankings. Indeed, two Asia-Pacific countries are among the top ten for the first time: Singapore, which has surged ten spots since 2018 and is now eighth, and New Zealand, which is now tenth. New Zealand has been a model of effective coronavirus management almost since the pan- demic began and has other appealing characteristics.

Hard to argue with these findings and pretty easy to see all the activity in Singapore related to this ranking.

Still bummed about my passport but pretty excited for Singapore.

Cya